Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted December 21, 2010

After two years, the final post in the series. (And about time, too.)

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 14, 2010

Six Ways Bike Industry Marketing Models Religious Cult Behavior

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 6, 2010

How bike companies profit by sponsoring zillion-dollar racing teams and advertising products that (almost) no one ever buys.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 30, 2010

…And other Unpleasant Facts Of Life The Bicycle Advocacy Movement Needs To Learn Real Darn Quick-Like

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 29, 2010

Today I sat with an anxiously ambitious CU student who interned for a client of mine.  A smart but obviously misguided youth, he asked me to be a mentor on his new web based product/services idea that took 2nd place in the business school competition. He’s chomping at the bit for some light speed online retail growth.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 25, 2010

I was fortunate to get an invitation from Ridley Bikes to see its new headquarters in the Flanders region of Belgium last week as well as sample a bit of the local culture.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 23, 2010

The Last Two Installments In The Perfect Competition Series…Plus The Final Scorecard.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 18, 2010

If bike shops want to compete for the bulk of the US market, they need cheaper bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 15, 2010

How Product Homogeneity and Constant Returns to Scale effectively limit the Big Brands' growth potential

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2010

A recent WSJ article headline said “Looking To Grow, JC Penney Tries To Carve New Niches”. It’s Penney’s  new fangled strategy to try and salvage their “stuck in the middle” dying retail model.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 11, 2010

It’s a key retail skill. And I bet you thought it was vitesse or souplesse…
 
It’s politeness. Please. Thank you. I’m sorry that happened. Accept our apology.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Last week we talked about three tactics that 1.0 brands are using to great effect in trying to break the industry cycle of Perfect Competition. This week, three more tactics where they’re not doing nearly as well.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Both are non-negotiables in a Bicycle Retailer’s marketing plan.  Today the market requires both a mastery of bathrooms and the art of super niche social media, among other things.  Properly played both can be brand celebrations of your specialty retail shop.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

Rain stopped but winds picked up as our crew worked its way southeast to Fort Worth.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

On the final day of the tour we rode on scenic multi-use trails and paths as we visited shops in central Dallas.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010

Though the forecast called for some showers, unrelenting rain drenched riders on the first day of the Dallas/Fort Worth Dealer Tour.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010

Eight Tactics 1.0 Brands Are Using Right Now to Break Through the Perfect Competition Barrier.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 28, 2010

In my last Brain Blog post ago I poo-poo’ed the coming electric bicycle groundswell and rallied for electric scooters and folding bikes. As promised, here’s a part two hallucination wrapped around my big wish for folding bicycles in urban markets.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 27, 2010

It’s an ego-driven epidemic in bike shops. It scares away customers. It’s the Authority Battle. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 25, 2010

Industry Experts (including you) weight in on the “Perfect Competition” Model Of The Bike Biz

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis