Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted April 20, 2011

Birthdays are dangerous for impulse buyers. My most recent one found me shivering in the alcove entryway at Elliott Bay Bicycles in downtown Seattle, waiting for them to open. A bitter February wind was blowing in off the Sound. An empty sixteen ounce malt liquor can rattled around at my feet. When Bob Freeman rode up on his classic Schwinn Paramount to open the store, he seemed surprised to see me huddled there by the front door. “It’s not mine,” I said when he glanced down at the empty can. “I haven’t had a drink in over a year,” I continued, sounding exactly like the kind of righteous jerk I was afraid of becoming when I quit. “Stumbling around in a hopeless fog of sobriety is no picnic,” I added, hoping to lighten the mood, as he unlocked the door.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 12, 2011

I came to Rivendell like a refugee, dragging my belongings behind me in a red roller borrowed from my wife.  A January fugitive from Seattle, I was seeking sunlight and perhaps a bit of enlightenment.  Having taken the BART train directly from SFO to Walnut Creek, I dodged SUV's while jaywalking across busy suburban streets.  Whenever I extended my stride, the roller would bounce off my heel and go into a Dutch roll, trying to twist out of my grasp.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 6, 2011

In its own independent and disorderly way, Berkeley is a great bike town.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 24, 2011

The $15mm Man Or Maam

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 3, 2011

I’ve heard it said that no two snowflakes that land on planet Earth are alike. There’s also a theory that if one atom in the universe were to occupy the same space/time the whole cosmos would implode.  The same goes for your retail store, which is your brand! It’s what the alien nation calls DFD or ‘Death From Duplication’ for those of us that are acronym challenged.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2011

The 2011 NAHBS Awards winners are as follows:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 14, 2011

Can You Turn Less Into More? 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 27, 2011

I’ve followed professional wrestling for several decades. It’s the best integrated marketing on the planet and their longevity and strong financials are proof.  Ok, go ahead make fun of me because I know all about Ravishing Rick Rude and his signature move “The Rude Awakening”. Actually there’s a business model and competitive strategic approach I’ve implemented with several of my clients based on this piledriver’esque move. But I digress….. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 5, 2011

Share your thoughts and memories of Russ Okawa in our comments section down below.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted January 5, 2011

As the year draws to a close, it’s a perfect time to reflect and revisit the most influential news stories of the year.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 21, 2010

After two years, the final post in the series. (And about time, too.)

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 14, 2010

Six Ways Bike Industry Marketing Models Religious Cult Behavior

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted December 6, 2010

How bike companies profit by sponsoring zillion-dollar racing teams and advertising products that (almost) no one ever buys.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 30, 2010

…And other Unpleasant Facts Of Life The Bicycle Advocacy Movement Needs To Learn Real Darn Quick-Like

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 29, 2010

Today I sat with an anxiously ambitious CU student who interned for a client of mine.  A smart but obviously misguided youth, he asked me to be a mentor on his new web based product/services idea that took 2nd place in the business school competition. He’s chomping at the bit for some light speed online retail growth.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 25, 2010

I was fortunate to get an invitation from Ridley Bikes to see its new headquarters in the Flanders region of Belgium last week as well as sample a bit of the local culture.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 23, 2010

The Last Two Installments In The Perfect Competition Series…Plus The Final Scorecard.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 18, 2010

If bike shops want to compete for the bulk of the US market, they need cheaper bikes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 15, 2010

How Product Homogeneity and Constant Returns to Scale effectively limit the Big Brands' growth potential

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 12, 2010

A recent WSJ article headline said “Looking To Grow, JC Penney Tries To Carve New Niches”. It’s Penney’s  new fangled strategy to try and salvage their “stuck in the middle” dying retail model.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis