Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted February 28, 2013
Gregg Bagni gives props to NAHBS
Gregg Bagni

Cool, a “trade” show that's local, I can hit it in a day and sleep in my own bed!! Yippeee!

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 1, 2013
Photo-graphic by Peggy Price

One of the many lessons I learned in 1975 from my retail mentor Peter Davis from Champaign Cycle: “Never run out of inner tubes!” Of course, he could just buy more tubes, and I had to beg Tom French for mine. But that’s another story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 28, 2012

The Age-Old Debate broke out on Facebook a while back: Do mass market bikes discourage their owners from becoming cyclists?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 26, 2012
Tom Ritchey welded up this 650B in 1980.

Once viewed as the less-extreme alternative to the 29er, perhaps suitable for longer travel and/or smaller frame sizes, 650B is quickly emerging as the staple size of mountain bikes of the near future.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Taichung Bike Week
Posted November 16, 2012

Editor’s note: The following piece was written by Tom Demerly, writer and photographer for Felt Bicycles, for his blog. It has been edited for length.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2012

Editor's note: The following column was written by Judy Amabile, the president of Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. and Adeline Bash, public relations associate for Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 3, 2012

My 19-year-old son Will crashed on his bike yesterday afternoon. Hit his head hard. He was wearing his Lazer helmet. He had a bit of a headache this morning.
 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2012
John Burke gave the keynote address at Interbike. Photo: Lynette Carpiet

Admittedly, all you have to do is hang out with the dark side of my family tree and you’ll realize they truly put the “funk” in dysfunctional. With that said, my late flight arrival only allowed me to hear the last half hour of John Burke's speech at the first ever industry breakfast.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 5, 2012
Ray Keener

It's not often that I quote the Bible. Or fall off my bike.

I'm old and cautious. My bones heal more slowly than they used to. Plus, I would surely perish if I couldn't ride my bike and play golf. So it had been decades since I've had a major bike mishap.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 24, 2012

In the spirit of “what would Leslie want us to be doing right now.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2012

How the "model year" concept creates more problems than it solves...

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2012

Changes to production and supply channels have rendered model years obsolete.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 20, 2012

It all comes down to Money, Risk, and Chinese New Year

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 3, 2012

How do you get rich marketing to a non-enthusiast customer base?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 20, 2012

In terms of which brands are tops in which shops and/or markets, it’s not Trek, Giant, or Specialized that leads the pack.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 5, 2012

The latest NSGA numbers point to what might be a turnaround for the US bicycle business. Or not.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 22, 2012

A darker and often overlooked side to "flat sales."

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 18, 2012

Holy smokes someone is finally figuring out how to build an ebike.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 18, 2012

Are flat bike sales for the past 35 years a good thing or a bad thing?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis