Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted September 13, 2013

Discount internet retailing is a big challenge for brick-and-mortar retailers and the brands they carry.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 5, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

New research from Nielsen Corp. shows that half of consumers are now willing to spend more on products and services from companies that give back to society.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 26, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Aside from “I’ll know it when I see it,” is there a way to fairly judge a store’s performance?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2013
Daughter Kate, knuckles on bars, looking forward to her 125-degree stem

I take my gal pals bike shopping. They like it better than I do.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 13, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

What if it’s more than the weather? What if the very nature of the bike shop customer is changing?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Amazon recently announced it will add 5,000 jobs at regional shipping and customer service centers across the country. President Obama scheduled a visit an Amazon warehouse Tuesday and praised the company as a job creator for America. This is wrong on so many levels.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 29, 2013

Lawyer Steven W. Hansen guides us through a mass of electric bike regulations.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Electric bike
Posted July 15, 2013
A blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

Are non-white people uncomfortable in many U.S. bicycle shops?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 3, 2013

A future world without bike shops would be a disaster for the cycling movement at all levels.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 24, 2013

The latest blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 17, 2013

You know how when you get back from a long bike ride and get cleaned up and slip into your flip-flops, your feet just feel so darned ... good?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 14, 2013
A blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

The average bicycle retail store earns annual pre-tax profit of 5.5 percent, but the top 25 percent bring home nearly three times that.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 22, 2013
Analysis by lawyer Steven Hansen

In May 2000, after public input, the Federal trade Commission (FTC) staff issued the initial .Com Disclosures guide to show how the Commission’s consumer protection statutes, rules, and guides apply to online advertising and sales and discussed FTC requirements that disclosures be presented clearly and conspicuously, in the context of online advertising.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2013

By Adeline Bash, Public Relations Associate for Product Architects, Inc.  — the manufacturer of the Polar Bottle insulated water bottles. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 8, 2013

For the sake of full disclosure I think I should admit something before I get too far into this: I am not and have never been a “biker.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2013
Gregg Bagni gives props to NAHBS
Gregg Bagni

Cool, a “trade” show that's local, I can hit it in a day and sleep in my own bed!! Yippeee!

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 1, 2013
Photo-graphic by Peggy Price

One of the many lessons I learned in 1975 from my retail mentor Peter Davis from Champaign Cycle: “Never run out of inner tubes!” Of course, he could just buy more tubes, and I had to beg Tom French for mine. But that’s another story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 28, 2012

The Age-Old Debate broke out on Facebook a while back: Do mass market bikes discourage their owners from becoming cyclists?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 26, 2012
Tom Ritchey welded up this 650B in 1980.

Once viewed as the less-extreme alternative to the 29er, perhaps suitable for longer travel and/or smaller frame sizes, 650B is quickly emerging as the staple size of mountain bikes of the near future.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Taichung Bike Week
Posted November 16, 2012

Editor’s note: The following piece was written by Tom Demerly, writer and photographer for Felt Bicycles, for his blog. It has been edited for length.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis