Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted July 31, 2013
A blog by NBDA executive director Fred Clements

Amazon recently announced it will add 5,000 jobs at regional shipping and customer service centers across the country. President Obama scheduled a visit an Amazon warehouse Tuesday and praised the company as a job creator for America. This is wrong on so many levels.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 29, 2013

Lawyer Steven W. Hansen guides us through a mass of electric bike regulations.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Electric bike
Posted July 15, 2013
A blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

Are non-white people uncomfortable in many U.S. bicycle shops?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 3, 2013

A future world without bike shops would be a disaster for the cycling movement at all levels.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 24, 2013

The latest blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 17, 2013

You know how when you get back from a long bike ride and get cleaned up and slip into your flip-flops, your feet just feel so darned ... good?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 14, 2013
A blog by NBDA Executive Director Fred Clements

The average bicycle retail store earns annual pre-tax profit of 5.5 percent, but the top 25 percent bring home nearly three times that.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 22, 2013
Analysis by lawyer Steven Hansen

In May 2000, after public input, the Federal trade Commission (FTC) staff issued the initial .Com Disclosures guide to show how the Commission’s consumer protection statutes, rules, and guides apply to online advertising and sales and discussed FTC requirements that disclosures be presented clearly and conspicuously, in the context of online advertising.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 18, 2013

By Adeline Bash, Public Relations Associate for Product Architects, Inc.  — the manufacturer of the Polar Bottle insulated water bottles. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 8, 2013

For the sake of full disclosure I think I should admit something before I get too far into this: I am not and have never been a “biker.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2013
Gregg Bagni gives props to NAHBS
Gregg Bagni

Cool, a “trade” show that's local, I can hit it in a day and sleep in my own bed!! Yippeee!

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show
Posted February 1, 2013
Photo-graphic by Peggy Price

One of the many lessons I learned in 1975 from my retail mentor Peter Davis from Champaign Cycle: “Never run out of inner tubes!” Of course, he could just buy more tubes, and I had to beg Tom French for mine. But that’s another story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 28, 2012

The Age-Old Debate broke out on Facebook a while back: Do mass market bikes discourage their owners from becoming cyclists?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 26, 2012
Tom Ritchey welded up this 650B in 1980.

Once viewed as the less-extreme alternative to the 29er, perhaps suitable for longer travel and/or smaller frame sizes, 650B is quickly emerging as the staple size of mountain bikes of the near future.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Taichung Bike Week
Posted November 16, 2012

Editor’s note: The following piece was written by Tom Demerly, writer and photographer for Felt Bicycles, for his blog. It has been edited for length.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2012

Editor's note: The following column was written by Judy Amabile, the president of Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. and Adeline Bash, public relations associate for Polar Bottle Product Architect's Inc. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 3, 2012

My 19-year-old son Will crashed on his bike yesterday afternoon. Hit his head hard. He was wearing his Lazer helmet. He had a bit of a headache this morning.
 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted September 26, 2012
John Burke gave the keynote address at Interbike. Photo: Lynette Carpiet

Admittedly, all you have to do is hang out with the dark side of my family tree and you’ll realize they truly put the “funk” in dysfunctional. With that said, my late flight arrival only allowed me to hear the last half hour of John Burke's speech at the first ever industry breakfast.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted September 5, 2012
Ray Keener

It's not often that I quote the Bible. Or fall off my bike.

I'm old and cautious. My bones heal more slowly than they used to. Plus, I would surely perish if I couldn't ride my bike and play golf. So it had been decades since I've had a major bike mishap.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis