Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted November 11, 2010

It’s a key retail skill. And I bet you thought it was vitesse or souplesse…
 
It’s politeness. Please. Thank you. I’m sorry that happened. Accept our apology.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Last week we talked about three tactics that 1.0 brands are using to great effect in trying to break the industry cycle of Perfect Competition. This week, three more tactics where they’re not doing nearly as well.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 9, 2010

Both are non-negotiables in a Bicycle Retailer’s marketing plan.  Today the market requires both a mastery of bathrooms and the art of super niche social media, among other things.  Properly played both can be brand celebrations of your specialty retail shop.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

Rain stopped but winds picked up as our crew worked its way southeast to Fort Worth.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 5, 2010

On the final day of the tour we rode on scenic multi-use trails and paths as we visited shops in central Dallas.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010

Though the forecast called for some showers, unrelenting rain drenched riders on the first day of the Dallas/Fort Worth Dealer Tour.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted November 2, 2010

Eight Tactics 1.0 Brands Are Using Right Now to Break Through the Perfect Competition Barrier.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 28, 2010

In my last Brain Blog post ago I poo-poo’ed the coming electric bicycle groundswell and rallied for electric scooters and folding bikes. As promised, here’s a part two hallucination wrapped around my big wish for folding bicycles in urban markets.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 27, 2010

It’s an ego-driven epidemic in bike shops. It scares away customers. It’s the Authority Battle. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 25, 2010

Industry Experts (including you) weight in on the “Perfect Competition” Model Of The Bike Biz

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 20, 2010

Five days on a bike in the Bay Area last week showed me how much progress we’ve made in creating a bike-friendly America.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 18, 2010

Why Business Schools say Bike 1.0 will never win (hint: it’s because we’re too Perfect.)

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 15, 2010

Plan A...Embrace change and make some lemonade.....

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 14, 2010

It’s not about Anaheim, folks. And at the end of the day, it’s not even about August.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted October 14, 2010

It has been said having a high level of reversibility on a business decision can be a good thing.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 13, 2010

We’re not super-sure why you made the Double A (Anaheim, August) move in the first place. That no longer matters. Harmony is restored.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted October 12, 2010

That Top Retailers know about…and most Suppliers don’t

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 7, 2010

BRaIN celebrated the Top 100 retailers at Interbike. 1,000 dealers jeered. Eddy Merckx smiled.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted October 4, 2010

Like they say, when someone tells you “it’s not about the money”…it’s ALL about the money. Just ask two of the groups complaining loudest about the new Interbike dates and venue.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged Interbike
Posted October 4, 2010

When one of America's top retailers voluntarily parts ways with America's largest premier bike manufacturer, there's gotta be a back-story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis