Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted September 26, 2011

That’s right I didn’t see anything in the product area that blew me away. And, of course, I’m sure I’ll get comments from some manufacturer that says they had the new "XYZ" wheel, bars, stem, frame material or saddle profile. Sorry I missed your freaking innovation.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 31, 2011

Bike racing: Meh. I used to be a tifosi. Stopped paying attention about the time Roy Knickman retired. Dave Towle would un-Friend me on Facebook if he only knew how little I cared.  

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Ray Keener: OK, I’ve gotten in trouble before writing about the Gender Gap in cycling, so I’ve brought in a partner, Diane Lees from The Outspoken Cyclist in Cleveland, Ohio, to share the heat. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 1, 2011

Streets are narrow in Amsterdam. Minds are not.  An atmosphere of tolerance prevails. That most basic freedom, personal mobility, is joyfully expressed in the ceaseless stream of cyclists gliding about the city.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 27, 2011

As a former Category One racer and advertising salesman, my friend John Kodin is no stranger to pain, so his response to an invitation to participate in the annual Seattle to Portland ride long ago was telling. “If I want to be miserable,” he said, “all I have to do is put a piece of sandpaper in my shorts, have my wife squirt me with the hose, and ride around the block a few times.”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 15, 2011

This post by Brett Lindstrom, national/international sales manager of Speedplay, was in response to this recent story.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 27, 2011

Well, I guess it’s time to face the sobering reality… it’s Megan Tompkins’ last week at BRaIN.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011

Lance’s impact on the bike industry is as controversial as his alleged drug use. With all the recent chatter and analysis, let’s correct some of the revisionist history being spun.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 9, 2011

For once Ray I'll disagree with something you've written. There are a number of reasons your argument that racing doesn't sell bikes doesn't hold water:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 31, 2011

Sometimes, in a weak moment,  I imagine getting back into the trade show business. Then I  remember the deaf sound man and come to my senses. 

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 24, 2011

Boulder launched its B-Cycle bike share program last Friday. I was lucky to be one of the 100 folks riding the bikes from downtown to their dozen destination racks around town.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 20, 2011

Leaning hard into a decreasing radius turn on my ancient Schwinn Paramount, I ponder the effectiveness of thirty year-old sew-up glue.  A failed tire can kill you. Changing one can, too. Bitter experience has taught me to regard  every decision about tires, however insignificant, as a matter of life or death.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted May 11, 2011

I slept with Yoshi Shimano. Airline computers, those prankster accomplices of fate, had assigned us adjoining seats in the sold-out business class of an Alitalia red-eye going from L.A. to Milan. It was more togetherness than either one of us would have preferred, but we made the best of it.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 26, 2011

Sitting in the doughnut shop enjoying a chocolate old-fashioned and a black coffee, I was reading the paper and glancing up occasionally at my Cook Brothers Cruiser leaned against the wall outside.  Unencumbered by a lock, it was only ten feet away from me, although a window and a wall were between us. As it happened, I wasn’t its only admirer. A tough looking young guy approached from the sidewalk, keeping a purposeful eye on the bike as he stopped and rolled up the right cuff on his jeans. He was a stride away from the bike when he made eye contact with me through the window. In that instant of recognition, I’m sure he was asking himself, “Can that old dude get out of the chair and through the door, before I can get a leg over the bike and put a couple of turns of the pedals between us?”

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 20, 2011

Birthdays are dangerous for impulse buyers. My most recent one found me shivering in the alcove entryway at Elliott Bay Bicycles in downtown Seattle, waiting for them to open. A bitter February wind was blowing in off the Sound. An empty sixteen ounce malt liquor can rattled around at my feet. When Bob Freeman rode up on his classic Schwinn Paramount to open the store, he seemed surprised to see me huddled there by the front door. “It’s not mine,” I said when he glanced down at the empty can. “I haven’t had a drink in over a year,” I continued, sounding exactly like the kind of righteous jerk I was afraid of becoming when I quit. “Stumbling around in a hopeless fog of sobriety is no picnic,” I added, hoping to lighten the mood, as he unlocked the door.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 12, 2011

I came to Rivendell like a refugee, dragging my belongings behind me in a red roller borrowed from my wife.  A January fugitive from Seattle, I was seeking sunlight and perhaps a bit of enlightenment.  Having taken the BART train directly from SFO to Walnut Creek, I dodged SUV's while jaywalking across busy suburban streets.  Whenever I extended my stride, the roller would bounce off my heel and go into a Dutch roll, trying to twist out of my grasp.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted April 6, 2011

In its own independent and disorderly way, Berkeley is a great bike town.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 24, 2011

The $15mm Man Or Maam

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 3, 2011

I’ve heard it said that no two snowflakes that land on planet Earth are alike. There’s also a theory that if one atom in the universe were to occupy the same space/time the whole cosmos would implode.  The same goes for your retail store, which is your brand! It’s what the alien nation calls DFD or ‘Death From Duplication’ for those of us that are acronym challenged.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2011

The 2011 NAHBS Awards winners are as follows:

Posted in Opinion/Analysis Tagged North American Handmade Bicycle Show

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis