Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted March 3, 2009

Chances are if you've worked in the bicycle industry long enough you know who Dave House is.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009

As promised in my entry last week about One on One, I’m finally getting around to sharing some photos and thoughts from recent visits BRAIN sales guy Barry and I made to several bike companies in and around Minneapolis. Press deadlines and a short-lived cold (thankfully), kept me from tackling this blog entry sooner. But here goes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009

Below are the award winners from this year's Handmade Show with pictures.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 2, 2009

Had an interesting chat with the vp of communications over at the Motorcycle Industry Council last week about the CPSIA.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted March 1, 2009

Below are a few pictures from this year's Handmade Show.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 28, 2009

Speedway, Indiana isn't only home base for the Indianapolis 500, but also Zipp Speed Weaponry, which resides right down the street from the iconic raceway.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 27, 2009

Continuing his quest to be the next Anderson Cooper, BRAIN publisher Marc Sani interviewed Jay Graves, owner of Portland, Oregon's six-store chain the Bike Gallery, about the state of his business at the NBDA Super Seminar in Anaheim on Tuesday.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 24, 2009

If you’re ever in Minneapolis, make sure to stop by One on One, especially if you’re into vintage bikes, bicycle art and coffee. This quirky bike shop in the Warehouse District is owned by Gene Oberpriller and wife Jen, who put in time at QBP. I had the opportunity to check it out during my trip this past weekend to Frostbike along with our sales rep Barry Kingwill.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 23, 2009

Big shout out to Ben Serotta and Jeff Rowe, owner of of B and L Bikes in Solana Beach, for a hosting a terrific ride on Monday from the shop to Serotta's Composite factory in Poway.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 23, 2009

When I rolled into BRAIN Global Headquarters this morning Marc was back from his ski hut trip.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 20, 2009

Americans are driving less and that could mean more reason for them to consider replacing car trips with bike trips.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 20, 2009

GT is holding out hope that this tale plays out just like that Brothers Grimm fairy tale.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 19, 2009

It’s nearly impossible to make it through a day in this constantly connected world without hearing about Twitter.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 19, 2009

As a self-professed apostle of city bikes, Tom Petrie sees them as the next evolution of bikes in the United States. But when asked whether he believed U.S. bike shops would convert, he admitted that was the $64,000 question.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 19, 2009

Thanks to Kate Scheider at Bikes Belong, I just discovered an enlightening piece of research on bicycling and walking. Commissioned by the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), executed by the Gallup organization, and released in August 2008, it’s a treasure trove of how Regular Americans use and view their bicycles. Click here to download the .pdfs.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 18, 2009

All this jabber about cycling being the new golf has clearly gotten under the tender hide of the medical community, long renowned for spending more time examining putts than patients.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 16, 2009

Fresh off a day of skiing at Mammoth, Wick from Pro Net/Kore stopped by yesterday, bringing with him some Limar helmets.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 15, 2009

Golf's best known cyclist is David Feherty, former professional golfer from Northern Ireland and current CBS on-course golf analyst. And one of the funniest people on the planet. His irreverence is a breath of fresh air in the stuffy world of golf. Think O'Grady with a lilting accent.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 13, 2009

Our very own Mad Dog, Patrick O'Grady, received Top 10 bicycling blog honors from veteran journalist Sal Ruibal.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted February 13, 2009

Ian Klepetar has a pretty sweet gig. He rides his bike from town to town and business to business to sign new members up for Bicycle Benefits. Ian, 31, along with his brother Dillon, thought about developing it while heading up the Saratoga Healthy Transportation Network, a couple of years ago.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis