Follow Bicycle Retailer

Opinion

Posted September 8, 2009

Another one of my dubious (yet curiously seductive) theories (mail me for a complete list of all 47):

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 27, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer at the Bicycle Village store in Boulder. We had a huge Back-to-School tent sale last weekend. Six-figure sales in four days.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer and doing weekly product training clinics at the five Bicycle Village stores.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 21, 2009

James Thomas with Serfas stopped by earlier in the week to show us some 2010 product. Click on the video below to check it out.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 17, 2009

A sampling of some of the new bikes and accessories Trek showed dealers last week at its 2010 product launch.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009

One of my favorite parts of the trip this week to Trek World was checking out Madison's extensive bike network on a single-speed.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 14, 2009

BRAIN Sales guy Robert Roman and I visited Sports Multiplied in Carlsbad this week where Richard Verney and his team of 11 or so distribute Aussie brand 2XU, and soon Bont, an Australian brand of heat moldable cycling shoes.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted August 7, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. I try to sneak in as many bike-fitting episodes as I can. There’s nothing more fascinating than each individual cyclist and how they relate to their bicycle.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. Goal #1: To get myself more familiar with the needs and thought processes of today's consumers. Goal #2: To find out what today's bike shop staffers are all about. What motivates them? What social networking are they doing?

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 31, 2009

I'm working one day a week on the sales floor this summer. Everyone I tell who also works retail wonders why. Everyone who used to work retail and now churns out product or press releases totally gets why.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 16, 2009

Chris King's Chris DiStefano was nice enough to share some pictures of this year's Downieville with us.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 15, 2009

Norco Bikes showed off its new line of 2010 bikes to its top 50 dealers and members of the media this week in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted July 13, 2009

Watching Lance Armstrong vie for an eighth Tour de France title got me to thinking about last year’s Interbike, when Lance made his formal announcement that he was returning to pro cycling.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 26, 2009

Here is another round of 2010 product seen at Press Camp this week in Sun Valley, Idaho.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 24, 2009

Here is some of the 2010 product being showcased at Press Camp in Sun Valley.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 21, 2009

I attended the Dirt Series Camp in Sun Valley, Idaho this past weekend and had a great time despite the few brief downpours and thunderstorms and one pretty crazy hailstorm.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 17, 2009

Got a call earlier from Stan Kilbas at Wheels of Wellington in Wellington, Florida regarding a scammer that’s apparently targeting bike shops in his area.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 15, 2009

Burley CEO Michael Coughlin, along with business development manager Erin Koenig, dropped by last Thursday to discuss new products in development and how Burley is positioning itself in the growing commuter market.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 15, 2009

Specialized introduced its new brand of urban bikes, called Globe, in Minneapolis, Minnesota last week.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis
Posted June 7, 2009

Pat Sorensen, president of Penn Cycle, interview from Dealer Tour.

Posted in Opinion/Analysis

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Opinion/Analysis